Important announcement regarding the Spencer Fellowship Programs

The Spencer Foundation is pleased to announce that, effective July 2011, the National Academy of Education (NAEd) will administer the Dissertation Fellowship Program. The NAEd also administers the Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, and housing both programs in the same place affords greater opportunity to build connections across fields and generations. The Dissertation Fellowship Program will continue to provide valuable mentoring, networking opportunities, and financial support to those chosen as Fellows. The primary difference is that applicants will now submit their materials directly to the NAEd instead of Spencer.

The goals of the program remain the same. The Dissertation Fellowship Program seeks to encourage a new generation of scholars from a wide range of disciplines and professional fields to undertake research relevant to the improvement of education. These $25,000 fellowships support individuals whose dissertations show potential for bringing fresh and constructive perspectives to the history, theory, or practice of formal or informal education anywhere in the world. This highly competitive program aims to identify the most talented researchers conducting dissertation research related to education. Like all Spencer Foundation programs, the Dissertation Fellowship program receives many more applications than it can fund. This year, up to 600 applications are anticipated and up to 25 fellowships will be awarded. To connect to essays on the qualities of an exemplary dissertation click here.

For more information on how to apply:

The National Academy of Education
Click here for the NAEd Spencer Dissertation Fellowship program page. 
phone: (202) 334-2341 

Click here for a list of the 2011-2012 Dissertation Fellows.

Click here for a list of the 2010-2011 Dissertation Fellows.

Click here for a list of the 2009-2010 Dissertation Fellows.

Click here for a list of the 2008-2009 Dissertation Fellows.

Click here for a list of the 2007-2008 Dissertation Fellows.